Thought For The Day

If you’re ever feeling down about the way you look, remember this:

Some of the most beautiful people in the world have the ugliest knees.

No, really. I look at photos of models and actresses looking perfect, and then I realise their knees are really unpleasant.

THIS IS GOOD NEWS, because-

a – I have nicer knees than that model on Project Runway, and

b – Those ugly knees? They don’t stop those people from being incredibly beautiful.

So even if there is something you HATE about yourself (like my hands, my thighs, my jawline…), remember that even though those bits may not ever be perfect, that doesn’t mean that YOU’RE not wonderful and magical and glorious. The seeds of beauty lie in our imperfections.

So, today, challenge yourself and find something about you that is really really GOOD, be it aesthetically, functionally or emotionally. Like this:

AESTHETICALLY, I love my eyes, because they’re almond shaped and dark and borderline Disney-villanesque;

FUNCTIONALLY, I love my voice, because it’s clear and bright and happy;

EMOTIONALLY, I love my strong sense of self, because it grounds me and reminds me that no matter what anyone says, who I am is worthwhile and wonderful.

It’s not easy to find these things, but you MUST find them, because ‘if you can’t love yourself, how in the hell are you gonna love somebody else?!’

Can I get an amen up in here?

Rachel Rabbit

2 thoughts on “Thought For The Day

  1. If I’m ever having a moment where I dislike the way I look, I find it helps to repeat “I don’t give a shit” over and over again until it sinks in!

    Like

Leave a Reply

